By continuing to browse this site, you accept the use of cookies to collect audience statistics and ensure that your visit runs smoothly.
Find out more and manage cookies
Ok

Help center

Sharing

What is sharing?

Sharing a document means allowing the people of your choice to access it via a URL address (a “link”). The people who receive the share link can then view your file online (if it's a photo) and download it using a simple web browser. You can create a share link for one of your documents from any of the hubiC applications, and then you can send it by email or SMS, or share it via the social networks. You can cancel a share at any time, so that the share link no longer gives access to your documents. If you don't cancel it, the share link will have a lifespan of 5, 10 or 30 days, depending on the option you chose at the time of creating it. NB - Folder sharing is not available with the iOS application (iPhone, iPad).

Can I share documents with people who don't use hubiC?

Yes, only a web browser is needed to access a shared file. Your contacts do not need to have hubiC accounts or login details to view and download your files.

How long will my files be shared for?

If you don't cancel it beforehand, the share link will have a lifespan of 5, 10 or 30 days, depending on the option you chose at the time of creating it. Once this duration has passed, the share link will no longer be valid and will no longer provide access to your files.

How can I see how much time is left till the share link expires?

On the hubiC web and mobile apps, the time remaining before expiry is shown next to the file name. It is not yet possible to obtain this information via the Windows and Mac applications.

Can I extend the lifespan of a share?

No. However, you can create of a new share link when your publication has expired. The link will be different and the lifespan will begin again from scratch.

How can I see if a file is being shared?

The names of the shared files/folders displayed within the apps will be coloured blue, and will remain so until the expiry date.

How do I bring up the share link again?

Do the same as you would if you were sharing a new file and the existing share link will be displayed.

Is it possible to share a file for an unlimited time period?

No, it is not possible.

If I share a folder then modify the contents later, will these modifications will visible to the people I sent the share link to?

If you subsequently add a file to a folder after sharing, the shared folder will not contain this new file. You will need to cancel the publication and create a new link. If you delete, move or rename a file contained within a shared folder, then it will no longer appear via the share link. NB - Folder sharing is not available with the iOS application (iPhone, iPad).

Can I use a password to give access to a shared file?

No, it is not possible. However, only you will have control over the link. This link is not public and will not be referenced by the search engines.

Who will have access to my shared documents?

Anyone you have sent the link to can access the documents you have shared, up until the expiry date. If you share the link on the social networks, bear in mind that the link could reach beyond your circle of friends, and that you are legally responsible for the files that you share.

Will I be able to see who has accessed my share link?

Not, it is not possible.

Will I be able to authorise document viewing only and prohibit downloads?

No, all documents shared can be downloaded by those who have received the link.

Will the files I share affect my storage quota?

No, the shared files are not copied, so they do not increase the amount of storage space used.

Why I am asked for my postal address when sharing for the first time via hubiC?

This is a legal requirement, as you are legally responsible for the files that share using hubiC. We also have to be able to identify users that post abusive content.



< Back